It’s hard to believe so much time has passed since my last post.  Life just gets in the way sometimes.  Just when I thought some things were easing, more came barreling down towards me like I was Indiana Jones in Raiders of the Lost Ark.  It has been slightly easier than the last onslaught, but it feels like I was just recovering and getting back on my feet.  That’s the key…getting back on my feet.  Somehow I just keep doing it.

As I’ve said before, though, I’m not doing it alone.  I have an enormous amount of help.  I’m not one to get overly religious, but it’s like to story of the footprints on the sand and the person sees only one footprint during the hardest times in life.  He asks God why he was abandoned and God said those were the times he carried him.  Well, mine aren’t the only footprints in the sand.  Some come and some go, some are there always and some are just on another beach walking in sync with mine, and sometimes I need carrying.  Yes, I know this is just a metaphor and I don’t need to go crazy with it.  I simply feel obligated to step outside myself and remember to think about the ways in which I am truly fortunate, the ways that really matter.

As prepared as I can try to be, I know I will still falter a bit when stuff hits the proverbial fan.  For today, however, I trudge forward, keeping my eyes on my goals.  And next time, maybe, just maybe, I will be able to actually write about something concrete, like books or information literacy or my kids or education….

