Tags

, , , ,

Top 100 Baby Purees by Annabel Karmel.  I’ll give you three guesses as to what I’m doing these days.

The book is relatively short, but that’s what makes it sweet.  It’s simple and easy to follow, which is what you need when you have a baby.  I like the range of foods and the ages they are given at.  There’s a good index (always an indicator of a quality book) and there are a few general tricks and tips in the back.  It’s my go-to book for homemade baby food.

I’m sure there are other good baby food books out there.  This just happens to be the best one I saw at the store that day.  Although I also own The Petit Appetit by Lisa Barnes and I do like it, I haven’t used it as much as Annabel Karmel’s book.

If you’re planning on trying to make your own baby food, I recommend a few good kitchen appliances.  They don’t have to be baby-specific, but a good blender, immersion or handheld blender and food processor are staples you should have.  I didn’t have a food mill when I made food for my first child, but we have one now thanks to my husband “The Gadget King” and I will certainly try it now for my second.

The next thing I recommend is a set of silicone trays.  I actually use these Wilton brownie square and round molds.  I make big batches of purees, freeze them and then pop them out of the trays and bag them.  It makes easy portions for pairing foods and you only defrost what you need as you need it.  Additionally, I like it as a alternative to plastic freezing trays because it is non-reactive.  Therefore, no leaching chemicals to worry about.  It is still relatively new, so no long-term studies have been done.  I like it, but it’s up to your discretion.  No matter which type you prefer, I definitely recommend some sort of molds that you can freeze and are easily cleaned.

Wow, this went on longer than I initially planned.  I should wrap it up now, especially since my little Nicolas Cage is waking up.  Why do I call him Nicolas Cage?  Because whatever I feed him is gone in 60 seconds.

