Tags

,

>I am obsessed with trilogies.  It’s the perfect grouping.  There’s the beginning, a middle and an end.  A neat package, sort of like a good three course meal that leaves me very satisfied.  I also don’t like waiting to find out what happens next.  If there’s a series or a continuation of a story, I want to be able to read it right away.  Thank goodness for OnDemand and Tivo.  I can watch episodes of television shows one after the next if I’m too impatient.  I’m the type of person who would often hold off on reading part of a trilogy or series until I have secured the next one.  Sometimes this is not always possible and, if the book is good enough, I submit to my curiosity and then swear at myself later.

Two of my favorite trilogies are His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman and The Abhorsen Trilogy by Garth Nix.  Of course, almost every next book I read becomes my favorite of the moment.  Both are for young adults (books for teens), which is most often the first area of the library or book store I look in.  I simply love YA fiction, so I guess it’s a good thing I work in a high school.  I recently finished reading Catching Fire, the second book of The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins.  I am both thrilled with the story and annoyed that I read it because book three will not be published until August.  I had actually started reading book two when I found that the third would not be immediately available and, after much hemming and hawing, I decided to continue reading anyway.  Now I’m left waiting to see how it all turns out.

I don’t know why I torture myself this way.

