Tags

, ,

>

I’m going to state now that the sections below are taken from myself.  Yes, it is proper to cite yourself or you can be accused of plagiarizing yourself.  No joke.  Although I doubt anyone will take me to task on it in this context, I wanted to make the disclaimer anyway.  The words were already written and submitted as a part of a monthly report to my administrator and also as part of a letter to my school board in an effort to save my position.  I’m including it here because only about an hour ago I got off the phone with a local public librarian who repeated something that made me cringe.  She had been at a garage sale and the gentlemen in charge, upon learning what she did, said unconcernedly that libraries weren’t needed anymore as everything was on the Internet.  It is largely due to that type of indifference (and, dare I say, ignorance) that has moved me do more advocacy, including creating this blog.  So, below is one of many reasons for libraries and their continued place in society.  (My favorite bit is at the very end, so make sure you read the whole thing)
It is unfortunate that in times of economic downturn libraries are frequently targeted despite their need increasing during these periods.  Libraries are centers for information and the value of their services is commonly underestimated when it seems that an abundance of information can be easily accessed with a few clicks of a keyboard.  Librarians used to be considered gatekeepers of information before the digital age of the Internet made anyone a do-it-yourself searcher.  However, simply acquiring a do-it-yourself kit does not everyone an expert or professional make.  It is arguably more important now than ever to be able to teach students skills in searching for and utilizing a wide variety of information.  Instructing students in developing skills to utilize, evaluate and apply information, the nuances of locating the best resources, comprehensive curricular knowledge and the ability to stretch funding lies with the school librarian.  Also, it is not enough to say that we can provide access to a computer since a balance of print and digital resources is critical in providing adequate informational skills.
(and now for the big finale!)
Some have described the Internet as a mile wide and an inch deep.  If we ask our students to fish for information, but do not guide them to best ponds, rivers and seas and teach them the right poles, bait and techniques to use, how much good will it do them to have an ocean, if they only end up standing in a puddle?
